Faculty Of Agriculture's History | FACULTY OF AGRICULTURE
» ABOUT US » History » Faculty of Agriculture's History

Faculty of Agriculture's History

Faculty of Agriculture is one of three Pioneer faculties that made up the establishment of Universiti Pertanian Malaysia (currently Universiti Putra Malaysia) in 1971. 

Beginning with seven departments under this faculty, most of these departments were later developed to become several other faculties. At the end of 1998, Faculty of Agriculture has 3 academic departments which are Department of Agronomy and Horticulture, Department of Plant Protection and Department of Soil Science.

From 1st January 1999 onward, the restructuring process at Universiti Putra Malaysia also affect Faculty of Agriculture. The restructuring is based on the concept of uniting or integration of the main elements in the agricultural systems comprising of crop, animal, soil, technology and management. On this basis, the Faculty of Agriculture now have 7 departments - Crop Science, Animal Science, Plant Protection, Land Management, Agribusiness and Information System, Agriculture Technology, Aquaculture.

As a foremost agriculture faculty in this country, Faculty of Agriculture play a major role to find solutions to the current agriculture problems faced by the nations, and to enhance the prospects of development of the agriculture industry in the long term especially in the training programs of human resources for producing trained individuals comprising of graduates who are visionary and competitive in the industrial arena. Using the country's education system as the base, Faculty of Agriculture will strive to produce trained agriculture expertise characterized by their entrepreneurship and capability to provide consultations at any place, besides contributing to new and high agriculture technology resulting from research and commercialization programs.

The Faculty of Agriculture currently offer programs in Bachelor of Agricultural Science, Bachelor of Horticultural Science, and Bachelor of Science (Agribusiness), Bachelor of Agriculture (Aquaculture) and Bachelor of Agriculture (Animal Science). Beside that, programs at postgraduate levels offered are Master in Agriculture Science, Master in Science, Master in Land Resource Management, Master in Plantation Management, Master in Sustainable Land Management and PhD.



Updated:: 08/09/2022 [wazien]


Universiti Putra Malaysia
43400 UPM Serdang
Selangor Darul Ehsan
+603-9769 4802
+603-9769 4004